Mark McHugh

Ben Bernanke – Patron Saint of Moral Hazard ®

In Open Thread on Monday, December 7, 2009 at 2:36 am

“The ultimate result of shielding men from the effects of folly is to fill the world with fools”  

~ Herbert Spencer    

 Original artwork by Bleu Turrell of Turrellart.com  (cheesy photoshop by me). 

You’d think I’d understand the symbolism behind my own art.  Well, it’s not actually my art, but still, you’d think I’d know what the components (of which there are only two) were supposed to represent when I asked for permission to alter the identity of one of them.  I don’t.  Initially I thought the dragon represented the “crisis” that Bernanke saved us from.  You know, bazooka-ing your grandkids money at AIG, Citigroup, Goldman and everyone else who caused the crisis, so that the Sun would rise again…. 

Then I thought the slayed dragon represented the taxpayer…capitalism…the country….or better yet….Justice.   

more   The only thing I decided was that it doesn’t matter.  If Hollywood has taught me one thing, it’s that monsters never die the first time you think they’re dead (notice the wisp of smoke in his nostril).  

 

But even that doesn’t matter.  This post is the first step in my latest plan to dominate the World.  See that circle-R thingy next to the phrase “Patron Saint of Moral Hazard”?  That’s called a “Trademark” and it doesn’t just mean that I’ve figured out how to use the character map.  It means I get money whenever someone uses those words, just like the “Let’s get ready to rumble” guy (put it on my tab).  I’ll reinvest the proceeds promoting my latest invention, the World’s first four-dimensional Game!  (you don’t even know….).  Once I become a trusted household name, I’m gonna sell insurance policies on counterfeit baseball cards to every bank in the world and Climate Change derivatives to every pension fund manager.  

Hopefully you see where I’m going with this. I’m not getting a million dollar bonus this Christmas because I didn’t play a key role in bringing the economy to the brink of destruction.  So if anyone out there has any ideas on how I can bring the economy to the brink of destruction, please let me know.  Fucking stuff up beyond recognition is apparently the growth industry of the twenty-first century and I want, in now that we’ve got a patron saint. 

 

  1. great post and photoshop, I have always liked that Herbert Spencer quote.

  2. I thought you might like this post I found today: http://consultingbyrpm.com/blog/2010/01/do-you-love-big-ben-bernanke.html

    The image of little Benny playing with kittens made me think of this post. I like your image way, WAY better, btw.

Leave a Reply

