Mark McHugh

What’s Wrong with This Picture?

In SEC, stocks finance on Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 3:30 pm

My four year old got this one:610SPYCaptureSadly, our regulators won’t.

From the final minutes of trading today.  Now keep in mind, this is the SPY, not some penny stock.  If the SPY is having liquidity issues, we’re in for some very interesting days.

And I was trying to be nice….

I’ve got 14 million reasons to be kind to the SEC.  In March of 2007, I applied for a bounty on Angelo Mozilo’s insider trading. So when the SEC finally charged Mozilo with $140M in fraudulent insider trading, my heart skipped a few beats  (a bounty award is up to 10% of the amount recovered).   And while that kind of money is beyond my wildest dreams, it’s not enough to make me turn a blind eye to the incestuous horror show that passes for regulation in our markets.  I only hope that they have to cough up that reward money to someone who despises them as much as I do.

If I were a rich man….

For kicks, I decided what I would do if my archenemies had to cut that check to me.  I would run an open source development project on biochar.  It is my opinion that this is the most promising “green” technolgy, and would provide more jobs for more people than anything currently being discussed.  If I could ask one thing of you, it would be that you read the wikipedia article on biochar.

From Wikipedia:

biochar is a tool used to simultaneously slow down deforestation, increase the food security of rural communities, provide renewable energy to them and sequester carbon.

I’m using Biochar to describe a variety of technologies (including wood gasification) that can be enacted locally and customized to community or individual needs, addressing energy, environmental, and agricultural needs simultaneously.  These technologies require intelligent humans to build, operate, maintain and sustain them on a very local level.

Or we could go space-mining…..

Leave a Reply

